Skip to main content

Approval in Maine

Maine State Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors CE Information

  • NAADAC 192243

25 CE credit hours required every 2 years — 20 may be earned with Addiction Counselor CE.

Applies To:

  • Maine Addiction Counselors

Alcohol and drug counselors, alcohol and drug counseling aides and certified clinical supervisors shall complete continuing professional education every 2 years, as measured from the license renewal date in an odd-numbered year to the license renewal date in the next odd-numbered year, as follows:

Alcohol and drug counseling aide (ADCA): 12 contact hours
Certified alcohol and drug counselor (CADC): 18 contact hours
Licensed alcohol and drug counselor (LADC): 25 contact hours
Certified clinical supervisor: 12 contact hours

20 credits may be distance learning courses.

LADCs who are also certified clinical supervisors need to complete 37 contact hours in total.

Board Contact Info

Maine State Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
35 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
Telephone: 207-624-8603
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
Fax: 207-624-8637

View More Courses Currently 561 of our courses are available for Addiction Counselors regulated by Maine State Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors. These are just a few examples!

View More Courses Sign Up for a Free Course


We do our best keep our information current, but rules and regulations sometimes change without notice. Please remember it is ultimately your own responsibility for interpreting your state's laws, board rules, course relevancy and all requirements for your state.

If you are aware of a change in your requirements that is not shown here, please let us know!

Try a free CE course.

Get started by trying a free course of your choice. No payment info required!

Sign Up Free

View all free trial courses

Happy therapist using Addiction Counselor CE